top of page

10 Tips on Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party


Hello Beautiful People! Spooky season is here at the Disney Parks and I want to talk about the most epic party that has hit Magic Kingdom. Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party or MNSSHP for short is a special ticketed Halloween event on select nights at Magic Kingdom from 7pm to midnight. It’s been in season since August 16th and continuing on select nights until November 1st.

This will be my 3rd year going to the Halloween Party and I always have a great time when I go. I don’t want to say that I’m a pro at going but after doing some research in the past and going 4x already. I would definitely say I have some insight on this fun Halloween party. In this blog post I’m not going to tell you everything that’s going to be there because there’s other bloggers that go in more depth about it. But I will tell you my tips and tricks on how I do MNSSHP.


Tip #1 Have a Game Plan

I can’t stress enough how important it is to have a game plan when attending this party. You cannot wing it and hope for the best because you’ll go back wishing you did that instead. By reading this blog post you’re already taking the first steps and also look up some other bloggers so you can have a full insight of what you want to do at the party. Whether it’s meeting characters, watching the shows, or trying treats. It’s important to have an idea of what you want to do.


Tip #2 Best Days to Attend MNSSHP

In the past I’ve always gone to the parties on Tuesdays with fewer crowds than the weekend. I also went on a Friday and this year I went on a Sunday. After comparing the days Tuesdays would definitely be your best bet to go to the parties. Even though wait times will be lower than a regular park day any nights of the party. Most locals go on the weekends making it more crowded especially with the new Halloween pass this year when you can go unlimited amount of times except for Halloween night for the cost of $299 plus tax. I also recommend going to the party in September where tickets are cheaper and it’s not as crowded since the month of October has Halloween. WDW AP can also get discounts on tickets on select dates.


Tip #3 Best Time to Attend the Party

The party doesn’t officially start until 7pm but with your party ticket you’re allowed inside Magic Kingdom at 4pm. If you’re an AP or already purchased a day park ticket you can go to MK whenever you like. I highly recommend going at 4pm so you can make a game plan if you haven’t done so already. Ride some rides or even get dinner. I personally like to arrive at 2pm because I’m a rides kind of girl so I like to book some fastpasses beforehand and ride some rides before the party officially starts. Fastpasses aren’t available during the party but mostly there’s shorter wait times. So if you want to get some rides out of your system I suggest going a little earlier.


Tip #4 Characters to Meet

There’s quite a handful of characters you can meet at MNSSHP. Some that are only exclusive at the party and some that are dressed up in Halloween costumes. I suggest figuring out who you want to meet and go from there. Two years ago I met Jafar, Cruella, and The Queen of Hearts. Last year I really wanted to meet Captain Jack Sparrow so that was my mission. Since I’ve already met them I had no desire to meet them this year because I already have their autographs and photos. I’ve never seen NBC so I don’t care to meet Jack and Sally. The two of them are high priority on some people’s lists so I suggest lining up as soon as you get to the party. Sometimes the wait time can be 3 hours long. Definitely figure out who you want to meet before going to the party so you’re not wasting 3 hours of party time. Here’s a list of the characters at the party this year:

Main Street, U.S.A- Mickey Mouse (in Halloween costume), Tinkerbell, Jack Skeleton and Sally

Adventureland- Aladdin, Princess Jasmine, Abu, Genie, Jafar

Tarzan, Jane, Trek

Captain Jack Sparrow

Moana

Frontierland- Brer Fox and Brer Rabbit

Liberty Square- Grave Diggers

Fantasyland- Belle and Gaston

Alice, The Mad Hatter, Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum, and the Queen of Hearts

Ariel and Prince Eric

Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore, and Piglet

Rapunzel

Tiana

Cinderella

Princess Elena

Anastasia and Drizella

Storybook Circus- The Seven Dwafs

Donald, Daisy, and Minnie Mouse

Pirate Goofy

Cruella de Vil

Tomorrowland- Lotso

Elvis Stitch


Tip #5 Dress and Pack Light

For this party, Disney Parks allows you to dress up for the festivities. The full costume guidelines are on Walt Disney World website. You don’t have to dress up but it’s more fun when you do for the occasion. You can go as simple as a Halloween tee or full out costume. I love to Disneybound. I’ve been Ursula and Maleficent. Hey, if you’re going to a Halloween party minus as well be Disney villains. My Disney Soul Sista dressed as the Cheshire Cat, the Green Alien, and Rafiki. This was my sister’s first time at the party and she dressed as a witch. Remember we’re in Florida so it’s hot. You don’t want anything too heavy to make you feel uncomfortable. Keep that in consideration when planning your outfits. You also want to pack light because you’ll be walking around a lot, getting candy, riding rides, and anything else you have planned. You don’t want to be stuck carrying a bunch of items throughout the night.


Tip #6 Bring a Bag for Candy

I know I said to pack light but one of the highlights of this party is the amount of Halloween candy you’re going to receive. I highly recommend bringing a bigger tote. They provide you with a little trick or treat bag but that’s going to fill up quick especially if you hit up multiple spots twice. There’s no right or wrong way to get candy. You don’t have to go to every candy stand but I like to hit them all up because it’s like an adventure to me. They also have allergy-friendly candy upon request.


Tip #7 When to See the Shows

Everyone has their own opinions on when to see the shows but how I like to do them is do them all back to back to back. So you’re not running back and forth wasting time. I’m not going to list all the show times but they are up on Walt Disney World website but here’s how I plan my night to see the shows.

10:15pm- Disney’s Not So Spooky Spectacular

10:45pm- Hocus Pocus Villain Spelltacular

11:15pm- Mickey’s “Boo to You” Halloween Parade

There’s also dance parties happening the entire night and different times for these shows except for the fireworks but this how I manage my time when watching these shows.


Tip #8 Do the Ride Overlays

I’m a “let’s ride rides” kinda girl so when I can ride a ride or even something new I’ll take it. That’s why I arrive even earlier to get my ride fix in before the party starts. I know people say that the rides are there all the time which is true but these overlays aren’t year round. My favorite ride, Space Mountain, has an overlay of the ride being pitch black while they play heavy metal and Halloween music. My second favorite ride, Pirates of the Caribbean, have actual pirates (actors) throughout the que and ride interacting with us on the ride. Mad Tea Party gets lit at night with their Halloween jams and disco lights. New! At Monsters Inc Laugh Floor they’re giving us Halloween jokes while we trick or treat in that area. I like to try things for the experience or if any of these rides are you’re favorite I would definitely check it out at the party.


Tip #9 Treats to Eat

There’s so many different food and treats to try at the Halloween party I would also make a game plan of what you want to try. You don’t want to make dining reservations anywhere unless it’s at the New! Cruella‘s Halloween Hide-A-Way Party where you get unlimited food, treats, and drinks for $99. But if you decide not to go that route a perfect quick service would do. My all time favorite is from last year and I’m glad it’s still here for this year and that’s the Hades Nachos at Peco’s Bill. It has black bean tortilla chips topped with fiery buffalo chicken and nacho cheese sauce. It’s very good.


Tip #10 Have Fun

You paid for an extra ticket to attend this Halloween party so have fun. You’re at the Happiest Place on Earth during spooky season so enjoy it. These are the tips I have for you Beautiful People on how I do MNSSHP. I hope you enjoyed it and learned something new. Share with a friend who’s attending the party this year! Also stay tuned for my vlog on my YouTube Channel of actual footage of me at the Halloween Party!


Xoxo

The Pixie Gypsy😈

118 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page